The history of the borgo
The ancient hamlet of Montacuto (known in the Middle Ages as ‘Montagutolo’) stands on the summit of the hill of the same name (470 m above sea-level), where the remains of the ancient fortifications are still visible. Montacuto was one of the castles built by the Sienese counts of Ardenghesca in the heartland of their Maremma domain. It occupied a strategic vantage point over two important routes connecting the Tyrrhenian coast of southern Tuscany with the inland territories around Siena and Chiusdino . In 1202, Montacuto already held the status of a ‘Comune’ and had its own statute – an indication of how important this settlement was for the administration of the Sienese territory. Around this time, the population of Montacuto counted as many as ninety families.
In the present day, Montacuto consists of a small cluster of farmers’ dwellings and three separate independent cottages. Three cottages and an apartment have been restored as holiday homes; they are finely renovated using traditional Tuscan techniques and materials – stone, terracotta, and wooden beams. Montacuto’s strategic position straddling the ridge of a hill allows for breathtaking views of the surrounding valleys, which are blanketed with woods, vineyards and olive groves. When walking along the paths of these lands it is common to encounter a variety of wildlife, including porcupines, pheasants, hare, deer, and even boar.